Chicago Area Chapter
The Ninety-Nines

Amelia Earhart Memorial Scholarship Fund

This year's winners of an AEMSF scholarship will be honored during the Ninety-Nines International Conference in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in July, 2018. 

2015 Winners were named at the International Conference in Munich in July, 2015.
Because of the distance, only one 2015 winner was present. 
She was Tori Williams, of the NSC Kentucky Blue Grass Chapter.

2014 Winners, along with past winners, below, were introduced at the International Conference in New Orleans in July, 2014.
See the International website for more details. 

December 1, 2018 is the next deadline for Amelia Earhart Scholarships.  The applications must reach Sharon Schorsch by that date.

Fly Now Scholarships for student pilots are available.  See below.

Since 1941, the Amelia Earhart Memorial Scholarship Fund has helped over 600 women from six countries to advance and succeed in aviation and aerospace.  Past scholarship winners are now pilots for the world's airlines and multinational corporations, owners of flights schools and aviation businesses, and managers with the Federal Aviation Administration. 

To see a short video about the fund, visit this website:

Amelia Earhart Memorial Scholarship winners have served at every level of The 99s, as Chapter Chairmen, Section Governors, International Presidents, and AEMSF Scholarship Chairmen and Trustees.

Applications and the selection process are administered by the Trustees of the Amelia Earhart Memorial Scholarship Fund, with support from the chapter and section levels of The 99s.  Three types of awards may be provided annually:

Amelia Earhart Memorial Scholarships for licensed pilot members to advance their training and education in aviation and aerospace, including scholarships to complete additional pilot certificates and ratings, jet type ratings, college degrees, technical training and a special Vicki Cruse Memorial Scholarship for emergency maneuvers training.

The DEADLINE for the 2019 AE Scholarship applications to be RECEIVED by your Chapter AE Scholarship Chairman, Sharon Schorsch, will be DECEMBER 1, 2018.

A  progressive FLY NOW award for Student Pilot Members of the 99s will be awarded for the eighth time in the spring of 2018.  
The explanation and applications are online  on the 99s website--

Research Scholar Grants to add to the world's knowledge of women in aviation and aerospace.

Current deadline for Amelia Earhart Memorial Scholarships applications (other than the FLY NOW award) is December 1 of each year. 

The deadlines for the FLY NOW awards are March 15 and September 15 each year.  IMPORTANT NOTE:  There is a one month membership requirement in The Ninety-Nines for all FLY NOW applicants.  To apply in September, you MUST be a STUDENT PILOT MEMBER of The Ninety-Nines by August 15th.  To apply in March, you must be a member by February 15th.

For more information, pilots are encouraged to visit The 99s website,, and click on 'Resource Center'. 

Chicago Area Chapter members wishing to apply should contact Scholarship Chairman Sharon Schorsch well before the appropriate deadline to ask questions and to arrange to submit an application.

Website Builder